Week 1 Healthy Eating

Week 1

My posts for a while will be different from the usual recipe posts. I will include my recipes, but the post will also include my weight loss pictures (how more embarrassing can i get?), things I have seen during the week doing my exercises and any neat or interesting articles I may have come across. I have been doing this for going on 4 weeks now so as I post there is a time-lapse. It takes time to get all these things in order! LOL I hope you enjoy the new posts coming up 😀

A few things to know going forward:

  1. Please don’t judge my pictures, at least I am trying. I am putting myself out there in the hopes of inspiring!
  2. No rude comments will be tolerated and promptly deleted
  3. I am NOT a dietitian or a doctor
  4. I create my recipes in a database called Spark People, it helps me track what I eat, how much I exercise etc. If you have issues accessing the recipes there, I am going to be adding them on my blog, it is just a slow process.

The first recipe I will share I found and tweaked to my liking. These are my best friend right now. Keeping a low-fat low-calorie diet is hard, especially when you weigh everything, count each and every calorie and measure your food ingredient by ingredient. After all that is said and done you usually are done eating in no time, and then on to the next task at hand. For me that means 5 kids and a household to run plus chairing my Relay For Life event, AND exercise which I do 2 times a day. Having these Mini Egg Foo Young Bites in the fridge are a gift from Heaven when your belly is rumbling and you have no time to make and measure and weigh! They are 24 Calories, 1.4 Fat Grams, and 2 Fiber Grams, Not bad!!

Mini Egg Foo Young Bites

The sandwich in the picture at top is 1 piece of whole wheat bread, 1/4 of an avocado, 4 oz lean turkey meat, some baby spinach leaves, 2 slices tomato, and .25 oz of pepper jack cheese. the entire sammy full of protein and fiber is around 200 Calories. Perfect for a quick lunch on the go, and since the calories are low, you can add an apple or a few multi grain crackers with it.

Besides my go to Egg Foo Young Bites, my other new find this week to fill up my belly in the fly is the Chocolate Dipped Coconut Luna Bars! Like candy bars? Like almond Joy? Replace it with this and you will be in LOVE! It is so yummy and fills you up like no candy bar will, WITH nutrition!

I started this week strong, but in the end this was one of the hardest things to “get into”. I struggled and did my couch to 5K app 4 days this week. I ended up losing 2 pounds, which I was not that thrilled with. I had a goal in mind of losing 10 pounds a month, and if I only lost 2 pounds now, didn’t see how I would manage in the coming weeks. I decided to have no excuses to get to where I wanted to be, so I took that 2 pounds and challenged it. Next week, it won’t be a 2 pound loss!

you are worth it

10 thoughts on “Week 1 Healthy Eating

  1. Pingback: Week 3 Healthy Eating | Sweet Heat Chefs

  2. Pingback: Week 2 Healthy Eating | Sweet Heat Chefs

  3. I’m SO proud of you, sweet girl ❤
    You're gonna be MY inspiration! I'm joining the gym tomorrow. REALLY! I got on the flippin' scale yesterday and realized that I've gained 50 pounds since my hysterectomy last August. I can't do any heavy impact exercise, but I'm just gonna start movin' my big butt and see what falls off!
    I say we celebrate with a REUNION when we're at our goals!

    • OMG Me TOO girl! I just decided to go for it. I know I can, it is a matter of getting my mind in the right place. I think that is the case for anyone. You have to WANT it bad enough otherwise, you just give in eventually right? You’ll get there 😀 I wuv ya!!

  4. I love your attitude and your determination. I know you’ll meet your goals because of them. And Egg Foo Young Bites, YUM!

Like what you see? Comment now!

