Homemade Breadcrumbs – Because it’s too easy not to!

You know those pesky ends to the bread no one eats? Or when you have a toddler who is on a kick of I won’t eat the crust on my sammich!? What a better way to make use of those left overs is to make them into bread crumbs. Throughout the month I toss ends and left over bread scraps into a bag in the freezer and once a month I get out the food processor and the frozen bread and go to town for the morning making bread crumbs. I freeze them so they don’t get moldy before I am ready to use them. You can make plain ones or seasoned ones just like you can buy in the store. But the best part is you make them with natural ingredients and they types of herbs and seasonings YOU like. You are not limited to what is supplied in the supermarket. This could not be a simpler project to take on, in fact my 2 year old loves to whirl the food processor in what he thinks is his all acclaimed part of helping in the kitchen 😀

INGREDIENTS:

  • Left over bread ends, scraps, hot dog buns, hamburger buns, whatever bread product you have that you won’t use.

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Pre-heat oven to  375 degrees F.
  2. In a food processor tear up bread and pulverize until consistency you like for bread crumbs. I generally use a medium to smaller consistency. 
  3. Line a sheet pan with foil and toss about 2 cups worth of the mixture (which for me is 1 container full from the food processor) onto the sheet pan.
  4. Bake for   12 – 15 minutes.
  5. Watch it your first time to make sure they don’t over cook. I have made extra crispy ones and the flavor was not all that great. 
  6. Halfway through the baking process I toss and break up the bread crumbs to ensure a nice even browning.

 

ITALIAN SEASONED INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 teaspoons dried ground thyme
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried ground oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried ground basil
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (or to taste)

ITALIAN SEASONED DIRECTIONS:

Follow the steps above for the plain crumbs, except before placing in the oven toss with the ingredients above.

You can create whatever seasoning suits you. I make a lot of Italian food, so this is my go to mix.

Store in an airtight container or zip lock bag in freezer for several months.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Breadcrumbs – Because it’s too easy not to!

  1. I have a book that belonged to my grandmother from 1941 (the year after she was married). It’s about 900 pages of every possible tip for the modern American housewife. It is utterly fascinating. It covers everything from feeding a family for pennies a day to how to set a table to how to prepare the cheapest cuts of meat (like beef tongue, tripe and chitlins) in order to save money. I dearly love to sit and read that book and in was this very important directive: You should not EVER let bread go bad – make breadcrumbs or croutons out of it instead.

    lol – this recipe and your description reminded me of that book. I have a horrible tendency to let bread go bad around here. I have the best of intentions but it just never seems to happen

    • Beverly, isn’t it funny the little things that make all the difference. I never really made them either, but after cooking so much using them you start wondering…how to do it cheaper with 5 kids! LOL So by just tossing the ends in a bag in the freezer and then tending to that bag each month, I’ve got home made healthy bread crumbs!! I bet that book you have is super cool!!!

Like what you see? Comment now!

